Maryland Public Service Commission

The Commission regulates gas, electric, telephone, water, and sewage disposal companies. Also subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission are electricity suppliers, fees for pilotage services to vessels, construction of a generating station and certain common carriers engaged in the transportation for hire of persons. The PSC’s jurisdiction extends to taxicabs operating in the City of Baltimore, Baltimore County, Cumberland, and Hagerstown.

The categories of regulated public service companies are listed below:

  1. electric utilities
  2. gas utilities
  3. combination gas and electric utilities
  4. telecommunications companies
  5. water, and water and sewerage companies
  6. passenger motor vehicle carriers (sedans, limousines, and buses)
  7. railroad companies
  8. taxicab companies
  9. other public service companies

- Maryland Public Service Commission

State Commissioners

W. Kevin Hughes

Harold D. Williams

Lawrence Brenner

Anne E. Hoskins

Jeannette M. Mills

Maryland Public Service Commission News

Public comment hearing Mar. 6 in Kent County for Massey Solar project (Case No. 9407). #CPCN

The @MarylandPSC offices will be CLOSED Monday, February 19 for #PresidentsDay.

This weekend -> no sales tax on qualifying Energy Star products! #ShopMarylandEnergy

Efficiency saves. This weekend, save even more with tax-free shopping on qualified ENERGY STAR appliances. #ShopMarylandEnergy

REMINDER: Public comment hearing Feb. 20 in LaPlata for MD Solar 2 project CPCN (Case No. 9463).

Load More...



Maryland PSC
William Donald Schaefer Tower
6 St. Paul St., 16th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202


Phone:(410) 767-8000
MD Toll Free: 1-800-492-0474
File a Dispute


Updated on 2018-01-29T18:40:13+00:00, by Bailee Warsing.