Kansas Corporation Commission

The Commission has five main divisions: Administration, Conservation, Utilities, Transportation, and Energy.

The Administrative Division includes the Office of the Commission and various supporting functions. These are: 1) legal; 2) public affairs and consumer protection; 3) human resources; 4) information technology; 5) docket management; and 6) fiscal management and support services.

The Conservation Division's mission is to protect correlative rights and environmental resources. This is done in part by preventing waste and by enforcing regulations that provide guidelines of producing resources efficiently. The Conservation office is located in Wichita and has four District Offices located in Dodge City, Wichita, Chanute, and Hays.

The Utilities Division establishes and regulates rates for public utilities, including electricity, natural gas, liquid pipeline, and telecommunications. The Division also houses the pipeline safety program, and administers the Kansas Universal Service Fund (KUSF) through a third party administrator pursuant to K.S.A. 66-2008 to 66-2010.

The Transportation Division ensures appropriate and effective regulatory oversight of motor carriers with the goal of protecting the public interest and promoting safety through comprehensive planning, licensing, and education and inspection. This includes licensing, auditing, inspections and other administrative procedures that promote efficient motor carrier operations, while balancing the public interest and safety, and minimizing the administrative burden to the extent possible.

The mission of the Energy Division is to promote energy conservation and efficiency in Kansas and to serve as a clearinghouse for information on alternative energy and other energy topics. In support of this mission, the Energy Division administers programs, promotes public education through outreach activities, coordinates government and private sector activities, and provides objective and up-to-date information on energy-related topics. It is also authorized to accept federal funds on behalf of the State of Kansas.

- Kansas Corporation Commission

State Commissioners

Pat Apple

Shari Feist Albrecht

Jay Scott Emler



Kansas Corporation Commission Main Office
1500 SW Arrowhead Road
Topeka, KS 66604-4027


Phone: (785) 271-3100
Fax: (785) 271-3354
Email: public.affairs@kcc.ks.gov


Updated on 2018-11-15T17:26:55+00:00, by Bailee Warsing.