Maryland Public Service Commission

The Commission regulates gas, electric, telephone, water, and sewage disposal companies. Also subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission are electricity suppliers, fees for pilotage services to vessels, construction of a generating station and certain common carriers engaged in the transportation for hire of persons. The PSC’s jurisdiction extends to taxicabs operating in the City of Baltimore, Baltimore County, Cumberland, and Hagerstown.

The categories of regulated public service companies are listed below:

  1. electric utilities
  2. gas utilities
  3. combination gas and electric utilities
  4. telecommunications companies
  5. water, and water and sewerage companies
  6. passenger motor vehicle carriers (sedans, limousines, and buses)
  7. railroad companies
  8. taxicab companies
  9. other public service companies

- Maryland Public Service Commission

State Commissioners

W. Kevin Hughes

Harold D. Williams

Lawrence Brenner

Anne E. Hoskins

Jeannette M. Mills

Maryland Public Service Commission News

[custom-twitter-feeds screenname="MarylandPSC" height = 300px width = 700px]


Maryland PSC
William Donald Schaefer Tower
6 St. Paul St., 16th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202


Phone:(410) 767-8000
MD Toll Free: 1-800-492-0474
File a Dispute


Updated on 2018-11-15T17:23:06+00:00, by Bailee Warsing.