Wyoming Public Service Commission

The Wyoming Public Service Commission (PSC) regulates the public utilities that provide services to consumers in the state. The three main industries it regulates are electricity, natural gas and telephone. In addition, the PSC also regulates some commercial water utilities and intrastate pipelines. It is the PSC’s responsibility to ensure the public utilities operating in Wyoming provide safe and reliable service to customers at just and reasonable rates. 

The general duties and functions of the PSC include regulation of monopoly utilities to ensure safe, adequate and reliable service at just and reasonable rates; certification of utility service territory; resolution of complaints lodged against utilities; electric and natural gas utility securities and financing; authorizing major utility construction projects; and utility mergers and reorganizations. Additional duties include evaluation of regulated utility applications by the Commission Technical Staff to ensure compliance with state and federal law and PSC Rules; administration of the Wyoming Universal Service Fund; representation of Wyoming interests in regulatory issues on regional and national organizations, and the arbitration of disputes between parties. 

- Wyoming Public Service Commission

State Commissioners

Bill Russell

Kara Brighton Fornstrom

Robin Sessions Cooley



Wyoming PSC
Hansen Building 2515 Warren Avenue Suite 300
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002


Phone: 307-777-7427
Fax: 307-777-5700
Email: wyoming_psc@wyo.gov


Updated on 2018-11-15T17:12:51+00:00, by Bailee Warsing.